I'm currently obsessed with this house.  I am brainstorming ways to take better photos of it while not being arrested.  The picture doesn't do it justice but stay tuned...

I’m currently obsessed with this house. It may not look like much but I am brainstorming ways to take better photos of it while not being arrested. So stay tuned…

You knew this was coming…4 Things for Somers, now 4 Pointers for P-town.  Village life and architecture goes without saying and obviously top of this list, so I won’t mention them again since it’s just an over all understanding between us :) Here are 4 pointers the Great Northwest could take from a little New England life:

1.  Deicer.  Yes, there is a thing that cities can put on the roads that keep them from icing over.  Did you know that?  Wow.  I don’t think Portland knows that.  I know p-town is not America’s Winter Playground and I know that it’s three times a year maybe that we have bad icy spots in the metro area but why not have deicer anyway.  It’s snow-mageddon if a dozen flakes fall from the sky but I think we would be less likely to have a panic attack about winter weather if we actually possessed the tools to help us.  Anyone feeling me?  This place has it dialed.  No one freaks out–in fact no one even uses snow tires or has 4-wheel drive.  There are platoons of gigantic snow plows on the march and brigades of smaller, personal vehicles that drive daily to and fro with a massive snowplow attached to their brush guards.  It’s quite impressive, and knowing that without all of that we wouldn’t go anywhere when it snows and temperatures drop, I am so very thankful for it!  There’s even a guy that comes to our neighborhood and plows our driveways when it snows.  I know, all of this would look ridiculous in P-town but a little deicer is all I’m asking for.

2.  Butchers.  Anyone watch America’s Test Kitchen on PBS?  Don’t laugh! I love me some cooking shows and this one is a classic.  It’s from the famous magazine Cook’s Illustrated and they are based in Vermont.  (Of course they are.)  They go into great detail on how they come up with their recipes and are very specific about their ingredients.  It’s quite helpful for an amateur like myself but I find one of the key parts of the meat recipes involves discussing with “your butcher”.  My butcher?  Do people still go to those? Doesn’t the meat just magically arrive at your meat department in your local super market pre-packaged and ready for you?  And don’t you just get what you get?  Nope.  Enter:  Butchers.  And they are awesome.  Of course those men in the back at your local supermarket’s meat department are butchers as well, but here there are stores with just meats and butchers.  It doesn’t cost more and instead of me not finding the cut of meat called for in the recipe and then grabbing what looks to be the closest and cheapest option, I have professional helping me.  Genius.

Land!  This is our front yard. And we are not the exception.  Most plots out here are around this size--or larger!

Land! This is our front yard. And we are not the exception. Most plots out here are around this size–or larger!

3.  Land.  How do I put this…there’s lots of it out here.  And cheap too.  You can’t even put land and cheap in the same conversation when talking about the Portland-metro area.  Apparently it has to do with Urban Growth Boundaries.  Portland has them, New England doesn’t.  So therefore, when you want to buy a couple acres it costs a couple of bucks.  You can by 35 square feet of land for a couple of bucks in p-town.  I know, I know, live in the woods and suburbia is not the woods, but it’s a bummer we all have to live so close to each other in Portlandia…

4.  Sun.  Nuff said. (I know, pretty much everywhere else has more of it.  I just wanted to make sure to point it out :))

IMG_4148 IMG_4149 IMG_4150

Just had to share the Dub :)

Loves!

